Picture
I haven't come across any new spaces since 'Strange Things Happen' Exhibition in November and was itching to make some new work. Spaces are important for creating installations.
The easiest thing for me to do was to go back to making paper sculptures. It has been a while since I have used paper and it was extremely refreshing to use the process of wetting the paper and forming the abstract shapes. I started with plain a4 paper, but then had a brainwave. Why not use wallpaper samples that already have the pattern? I didn't try this originally because I wanted to keep it as minimal as possible or stick to the primary colours.
 Wallpaper has a very thick texture and it struggled to hold form, so with a little help from a hairdryer they became stronger. This pink was has the qualities of cloth, which is what I loved about the material, you can never be sure of what you are looking at.




Leave a Reply.


Joanne, Brennan, Paper, Plastic, Installation, Light, Space, Viewer, UV, Movement, Time.